Massachusetts Marijuana Laws: What You Need to Know
Massachusetts has legalized cannabis for adult recreational consumption. While this will allow for much more leniency surrounding this plant, there are still some restrictions as to what adults can and can’t do.
Adults over the age of 21 can possess up to one ounce of cannabis for personal use, up to 10 ounces in their home, and can grow six cannabis plants while remaining compliant with cannabis laws in Massachusetts. No more than 12 cannabis plants are allowed in one residence. Similar to other states, the public consumption of cannabis is still prohibited.
More than an ounce in public can land you a misdemeanor charge on your record with a six-month vacation in a state or private correctional facility as well, so it’s important to remain in compliance when in public. Possession with intent to distribute is a felony and carries fines between $5,000-$200,000 with accompanying incarceration times between 0-15 years.
Marijuana, money, and vehicles are all subject to asset forfeiture in the state of Massachusetts. There are no fines or charges for selling cannabis paraphernalia unless it’s to someone under 18 years old. In this case it’s a felony charge that carries with it a fine up to $5,000 and between 3-5 years incarceration time.
When it comes to cannabis concentrates like dabs, you can have up to 5 grams in your possession. If you have between 6 grams to one ounce you could receive a civil fine of up to $100. Possession of more than an ounce of cannabis concentrates can land you up to a $1,000 fine and a years’ time incarcerated.
Manufacturing cannabis concentrates can land you a $5,000 fine and between 2.5-5 years of incarceration. Using a minor to your dirty work can land you in even more trouble with fines up to $25,000 and between 2-15 years incarceration.
You can even grow hemp legally as long as you obtain the $100 permit to do so. The state of Massachusetts was one of the first to kick off marijuana prohibition. It’s great to see they‘ve learned from their mistakes and are once again allowing some form of access to this miraculous plant!
Despite recreational cannabis being legal in the state since 2016 and the fact that dispensaries were supposed to open their doors to the public for rec sales, as of June 25th, 2018 there have been zero recreational dispensary applications approved.
There are dozens of completed applications at this time, but the state Cannabis Control Commission has a total of 90 days to review licenses before either approving or denying them for retail sales. The majority of applications (16) have been submitted for opening dispensaries in Worcester County followed by at least five completed applications for Bristol, Middlesex, Franklin, Plymouth, and Norfolk Counties.